Women’s Football Awards receives over 20,000 votes as Lionesses and broadcast stars set for honours

  • The Women’s Football Awards, in association with SportsMail, will celebrate the outstanding achievement of people, brands and organisations contributing to the phenomenal growth of the sport
  • Eni Aluko and Jamie Carragher will be joined host of famous football faces at a glittering ceremony in London on Thursday 25 May 

More than 20,000 public votes have been cast ahead of the inaugural Women’s Football Awards which will take place at a glittering ceremony in London next month. 

The prestigious awards event, in association with SHEIN and SportsMail, will celebrate the players, people, brands and organisations who are contributing to the phenomenal growth of the sport. 

Thousands of people took part in voting on the publicly-nominated shortlist with names including Manchester United’s Mary Earps, Chelsea centre-forward Sam Kerr and Arsenal’s Beth Mead and Leah Williams all nominated for accolades. 

Manchester United’s Alessia Russo, Liverpool’s Missy Bo Kearns and Brighton and Hove Albion’s Poppy Pattinson are nominated alongside international stars such as Caroline Weir, Keira Walsh, Georgia Stanway and Vivianne Miedema all on the shortlist.  

The public voted in their masses across a variety of categories which also includes Journalist or Broadcaster of the Year, Best Club of the Year and women’s football Marketing Campaign of the Year. 

The votes will now be assessed and ratified by a star-studded judging panel including Lionesses Nikita Parris and Jess Carter and sports media personalities such as Hayley McQueen, Sue Smith and Seema Jaswal. The judging panel will also select winners of a series of awards for business and brands who have shown an outstanding commitment. 

Big organisations shortlisted include Adiads, McDonalds, Three Mobile, Pepsi, Arnold Clark and Everton Football Club. 

The Women’s Football Awards is set to be hosted by former Chelsea and England international Eni Aluko plus Sky Sports presenter Jamie Carragher, who will be joined by leading personalities from the women’s game alongside top celebrities and broadcasters. 

Sky Sports Breakfast presenter Hayley McQueen will also be involved in hosting duties on the night. 

Sponsored by global online fashion, beauty and lifestyle retailer SHEIN, it is the first time all levels of women’s football will be recognised at one flagship event. The Women’s Football Awards will pay tribute to grassroots greatness as well as national and international superstars of the women’s game. 

Other major award categories include Grassroots Initiative of the Year and a Lifetime Achievement Award. 

Co-host Eni Aluko, who made 102 appearances for the England national team, said:

“It is incredible that over 20,000 people have taken part in the public vote. I am so pleased to be involved in this event because these awards are genuinely decided by fans of women’s football. It is the first time it has ever happened in the sport.” 

“This is a brilliant event, highlighting the amazing work of players, brands, organisations and journalists to grow the game we love. I am looking forward to celebrating with the winners on 25 May.” 

The Women’s Football Awards, backed by SHEIN and Klarna, will take place on 25 May.