Women’s Football Awards  Categories

Player of the Year

This Player of the Year Award will be handed to the best of the best in the women’s game. The accolade could be awarded to a player for their efforts on the pitch but it might also be for a star who demonstrates incredible work off the pitch and uses their platform to push for better inclusion in the women’s game.

International Football Player of the Year

The International Football Player Award will highlight the trailblazers and those who have achieved excellence  on the pitch while highlighting the women’s game on a world stage. This is for a current superstar working hard in all facets of the game.

Young Football Player of the Year

The Young Football Player Award will shine a light on the starlets of the women’s game. The recipient will be U21 with incredible talent and ability plus a demonstrable willingness to promote and improve the women’s game as they progress through the ranks.

Football Ally of the Year

The Male Football Ally Award recognises those public figures in the men’s game who are committed to promoting equality and  opportunity for  women in football. The individual should have used their position to support and actively participate as an ally to women’s football.

Grassroots Initiative of the Year

The Grassroots Initiative Award exists to celebrate the achievements of those working at the lower, non-professional and amateur levels of the game. This accolade will be handed to an initiative, collective or individual who has gone above and beyond to advance inclusion over the last year. 

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is very special and will be presented to someone who has dedicated their time and efforts to the women’s game. They will be a true champion and advocate for inclusion while having also made great strides to advance the beautiful game for everyone.

Best Club of the Year

The Best Club Award will celebrate professional football clubs who have shown commitment and application to improving the landscape of football for women while investing and working to improve participation and improve inclusion in the game over the last year.

Brand of the Year

This Brand of the Year Award will draw special attention to the company doing incredible things in the women’s game. That could be anything from enabling women and girls to get involved in the game to brands using their platform to educate people about inclusive football environments or using football as a tool to create positive change for women and girls.

Women’s Football Champion of the Year

The Football Champion Award will draw attention to the great work being done to advocate for the women’s game by people in the public eye. This could be anyone working within the game or might be someone off the pitch who never fails to use their platform to push for better inclusion and the advancement of the women’s game.

Women’s Football Broadcaster or Journalist of the Year

The Broadcaster or Journalist Award will be presented to a football journalist, presenter or media outlet that has worked to highlight the women’s game while respectfully pushing for inclusion, amplifying the voices of women in football and celebrating the contributions of those making a difference over the past year.

Off The Pitch Award

This Off The Pitch Award will be presented to a hero who has shown dedication and passion for improving the beautiful game for women. This is an individual award that will be awarded to someone for their excellent and consistent work at any level of football or for one truly outstanding contribution.

Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Award

The Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Award will be given to a business or organisation that is going above and beyond to promote women’s football and create lasting impact and positive change. Examples from the last 12 months should be provided in the evidence.

Outstanding Corporate Social Responsibility Award

This Outstanding Corporate Social Responsibility Award is for a brand, organisation, association or football club which can demonstrate the positive impact their CSR activities have had on either fans, communities, grassroots initiatives, environment, employees or other stakeholders in women’s football.

Marketing Campaign of the Year

The Marketing Campaign Award will highlight the brands who have successfully demonstrated their commitment to the growth of women’s football through impactful and creative marketing strategies. This could be through a short-lived, clever and impactful campaign or consistent targeted and positive support. 

Football Business of the Year

The Football Business Award exists to shine the spotlight on an organisation, whether big or small, which has produced extraordinary work over the past year to make the world of football a better place for women.