Lionesses Nikita Parris and Jess Carter plus Real Madrid star Caroline Weir join Women’s Football Awards judging panel 

Three world-class players from the women’s game have joined an all-star judging panel ahead of the inaugural Women’s Football Awards. 

Lionesses Nikita Parris and Jess Carter will sit alongside Real Madrid and Scotland forward Caroline Weir to help decide the winners of the first ever Women’s Football Awards, in association with MailOnline and Metro, taking place on Thursday 25 May in London. 

The awards, sponsored by by global online fashion, beauty and lifestyle retailer SHEIN, will be hosted by former Chelsea, Juventus and England star Eni Aluko and former Liverpool and England international turned Sky Sports TV presenter Jamie Carragher. 

Other members of the judging panel include Everton, Barcelona and Atletico Madrid’s Toni Duggan, former women’s star turned manager Anita Asante, Sky Sports News presenters Pete Graves and Hayley McQueen, sports journalist Katie Whyatt, Labour MP Kim Leadbeater and the England international Conor Coady. 

The Women’s Football Awards will be the first major women’s football awards in the UK celebrating all aspects of the women’s game. Award categories include Player of the Year, International Football Player of the Year, Club of the Year, Grassroots Initiative of the Year, Lifetime Achievement as well as a series of accolades for people and brands working behind the scenes to expand the reach of women’s football. 

It will also celebrate the brands and organisations contributing to the phenomenal growth of the sport, who are set to be honoured for the first time. 

The public can nominate for awards at and winners will be chosen via a combination of public and judges voting. 

Chelsea and England midfielder, Jess Carter, said: 

“These awards are so incredibly important and a big moment to celebrate all the fantastic achievements in women’s football and the people and organisations who are growing the sport.

“I am delighted to join the judging panel and I am really looking forward to celebrating with all of the nominees and winners in May.”